top of page

The mission of Middle Tennessee News is to provide news and educational broadcasting to Middle Tennessee State University and residents within the broadcast area.  All media is produced at Middle Tennessee State University, School of Journalism and Strategic Media.  Students produce and anchor newscasts twice a week on Monday and Wednesday and contribute to the website.  MTSU students serve as managers under the supervision of award-winning faculty and receive grades for their contribution to the news product.  This teaching environment gives students a professional hands-on experience.  Out newscast streams live to our website every Monday and Wednesday nights at 5:00.  

Students participate in the newsroom

by taking any of these contributing classes:

Videojournalism Practices - JOUR 2132 with Dan Eschenfelder

Television News Producing - JOUR 3500 with Christina Eschenfelder

Advanced Reporting - Sports - JOUR 4440 with Chris Bacon

Quality news, where you want it, when you want it.

Students also produce a :30 minute weekly sports show: Blue Raider Extra Point.  The show airs Saturday monrings at 10:30 during football season leading up to kickoff at 11:00.  The show focuses on CUSA and Blue Raider sports.  The show airs on True Blue TV - Comcast Xfinity channel 9 and the Roku app in the Nashville market.  All content is entirely produced by MTSU students and managed by faculty.

MTN Sports also livestreamed men's and women's Tennis to Conference USA.TV thanks to the Adam's Tennis Complex in Murfreesboro. It is a mobile prouction set up were there were two comentators calling the game play-by-play as well as sidelines reporters reporting the action. We were the only school to cover all indoor and outdoor home matches involving over one dozen commentators. We reach over 300 viewers each match including international viewers.

Faculty and Staff

Christine Eschenfelder Headshot 3 (1).jp
Chris Bacon Pic.jpg

News Director

Faculty News Manager

Faculty News Manager

Dan Eschenfelder

B.S. Mass Communications, 

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Dr. Christine Eschenfelder

Ph.D. Journalism, University of Florida

M.A. Journalism, University of Memphis

Dr. Chris Bacon

Ph.D. Journalism, University of Kansas

M.A. Journalism, University of Illinois

B.S. Communications, Murray State University

Student Managers

Assignment Managers

Kira Fullington 2022-

Karli Sutton 2021

Ryan Martinolich 2024-

Elise Sandlin 2023- 

Digital Content Managers

Kira Fullington, 2022-

Sports Director

Ryan Martinolich, 2024

Production Manager

William Sprayberry, 2023


Karli Sutton, 2023

bottom of page